Council & Staff

Council and Council Meetings

Council consists of a Mayor and four Councillors who were elected for a four-year term expiring in October 2022. The Community has the opportunity to provide input to Council on various issues such as: budgets, taxes, development and community needs. Council's powers are exercised through the adoption of resolutions or bylaws or by setting policy.

Council meetings are regularly scheduled for the second and fourth Monday of each month at 6:30 pm at the Columbia Discovery Center at 8866 Grainger Road and are open to the public. The public can address Council at these meetings during the public question period. If major items are to be discussed, arrangements should be made, in writing using the Delegation Request Form prior to noon on the Wednesday before the meeting in order for the item to be included on the Council agenda. The Council Meeting Schedule for the year, can be found in the Meeting Calendar section of the website.

For more information, please contact the Village office.


Mayor & Councillors 2018-2022

Mayor Karl Sterzer 250-421-3202
Councillor Marie Delorme 250-417-7549
Councillor Bill Lake 250-341-5209
Councillor Doug McCutcheon 250-349-5515
Councillor Kimberly Swerdferger 587-224-3314






Village Staff 250-349-5462

Adrian Bergles - Chief Administrative Officer
Sylvie Hoobanoff – Corporate Officer or
Bill Doroshuk – Public Works Coordinator, Approving Officer
Doug Cartwright – Public Works Labourer
Sjac Pronk – Public Works Labourer
Annette Robinson - Accounting Clerk
Denise Trepanier- Bylaw Enforcement Officer, Emergency Coordinator, Administrative Assistant
Building Inspector 
David Ferguson - Fire Chief
Mathieu Fournier - Arena Manager 250-349-5617
Andre Champagne – Dog Control Officer 250-919-4276 or 250-349-5462